Michelle (flightsofwhimsy) wrote in add_me,
Michelle
flightsofwhimsy
add_me

Hey hey!

So I'm pretty awful at these introduction things, but let's give it a try.

I'm Michelle, 18, college student studying biochemistry and anthropology. I'm hoping to go to med school after I graduate, so you'll probably hear a lot about that and my general life as a student.

I'm really into African studies and global issues, particularly public health and aid. I love volunteering. I'm rather idealistic and have plans to change the world, but the realistic side of me knows that won't happen. I can still try, though. I do write a lot about volunteer work and some of the work I do with service organizations. As time goes on, I'm probably going to talk a lot more about my academics (biology research/african anthropology).

In case you're interested in what kind of music I like, check out my last.fm. In general, my favorite artists are Death Cab for Cutie, Regina Spektor, Kaddisfly, Coldplay, Explosions in the Sky, Ingrid Michaelson, Lenka, etc. but I'm constantly exploring new artists. You won't really hear me talk about music that much, so if you hate my taste it's not that much of an issue. I love Russian literature (though I don't have much time to read anymore), Agatha Christie, Edith Wharton, and others. Though I hate picking, some of my favorite books are The Memory Keeper's Daughter, No One Belongs Here More Than You., and Crime and Punishment . I'm not a huge fan of movies and TV, but when I do watch TV I love crime dramas (Criminal Minds, Bones, and Law & Order are particular favorites).

I'm not uber religious, but I don't mind if you are as long as it's not the focus of your journal. I do drink on occasion, but it's not a topic for journaling. If you talk about hard drug usage often, we probably wouldn't be good friends, because I'm not a big fan of that.

For the most part, my writing is about my day-to-day life, my family, and on occasion my boyfriend. I'll admit that during the semesters my writing is rather sporadic, but I'm always on and willing to get to know you if I can.
Subscribe

  • Hi!

    ✩ ✩✩ ✩✩ ✩✩ ✩Hello! My name is Pixel (she/her)! I'm a 32 year old. I don't quite remember my personality type but I'm an introverted…

  • I'm back

    Who is still active on this thing? I've recently been resurrected and I would like to actively journal again. I have had this journal for 18 years.…

  • Body is in England, Mind is across the globe.

    Hello all, I have been a member of LJ on and off since 2008. In 2014 I went to paper journals, but I'm finding it hard to find time to keep it up.…

  • Post a new comment

    Error

    Comments allowed for members only

    Anonymous comments are disabled in this journal

    default userpic

    Your reply will be screened

    Your IP address will be recorded 

  • 6 comments