blood & honey (sumofherregrets) wrote in add_me,
blood & honey
sumofherregrets
add_me

Time to visit these parts again. I've been quite happy with my sojourns here in the past.

I'm Jess, 31, married, and an Instructional Aide in Special Education at the high school level (doing both one-on-one work and classroom co-teaching, working mostly with kids with LDs and Asperger's). Hubby and I live in Eastern Massachusetts with our cat, River (named officially after River Song, not River Tam, but both are cool) and while we don't have any kids yet, we are both looking into ways to become financially secure enough to start trying in the near future.

My interests are pretty well mapped out on my User Info page; I enjoy writing, but I'm basically in the middle of trying to re-wire my ADD-addled to actually get any done (this has consisted mostly of forcing myself in front of Evernote during every "down" moment of the day, and carrying a notebook around at all times), and I'm participating in NaNoWriMo for the 10th year. I make jewelry, mostly out of polymer clay and beads and scraps of whatever I can find around, and I do some paper crafts and crocheting. This will be the third year in a row where I'll be hand-making all my Christmas gifts. I love cooking, working out, and planning out elaborate creative projects that I will never execute. I also adore and participate in projects like Operation Beautiful, More Love Notes, and SendSomething.

I'm active and involved in on-line fandom, including going to conventions and writing fanfic. I don't post excessively about fandom (I save most of that for Tumblr), but it does come up, and in those rare instances where I have enough money to attend a con, I will talk a lot about the con... I also don't mind if you post a lot about fandom, or nothing about fandom (though it's always cool to meet other fans who are interesting and well-rounded). Fandoms du jour are Supernatural, Doctor Who, Sherlock, Hannibal, Teen Wolf, Sleepy Hollow, Community, Avengers/Marvel movieverse, Adventure Time, and The Cornetto Trilogy.

I was overweight for most of my life, and am currently down 60+ pounds from where I was three years ago. I'm struggling with the last 10 or so that I need to reach my goal weight, and I do occasionally post about weight and weight loss. I am very conscious of the various issues people may have with weight talk, so let me reassure you that 1. I have lost and will continue to lose all of my weight in a healthy and measured manner, and 2. I will put any talk about weight loss behind a cut.

I don't talk or follow politics, but in a very general way, I am a social liberal - a pro-choice, GLBTQ-positive feminist. This stuff also comes up occasionally, but in general my blog is really just about day-to-day life, with a smattering of photos, memes, fandom talk, and (hopefully again soon), writing, recipes, and the like.

Add as the mood moves you :)
Subscribe

  • Seeking kindred spirits.

    Hello internets! I'm a 34-year-old girl person from the Great White North. Former hopeless romantic, now functional hermit. A kid at heart yet an old…

  • (no subject)

    Hey everyone, I used to be very active on here and recently went back and read my old journals and was inspired to create a new one so in the future…

  • looking for new friends

    Ive been on live journal since, ohhhh, maybe 1999. I come and go but more recently I have been here posting art and snippets of writing or bits about…

  • Post a new comment

    Error

    Comments allowed for members only

    Anonymous comments are disabled in this journal

    default userpic

    Your reply will be screened

    Your IP address will be recorded 

  • 1 comment