July 24th, 2011

(no subject)

Hey everyone. I'm here looking for friends since my journal is newer and my friends page is sort of quiet. 
  • I was an arts student at university, currently taking time off school for various reasons.
  • I'm 20.
  • I live in a very small town in rural Canada.
  • I'm agnostic, liberal and believe in animal rights
  • I'm a writer/photographer/poet. Some posts may include a variation of the three.
  • I suffer mild depression and serious anxiety, subjects which might come up in my journal
  • I post often and I try to always read/comment on my friends page as much I can
  • TV shows I like: Parks and Recreation, The Big C, The Big Bang Theory, Amazing Race, Teen Mom (and more)
  • Movies: Bridesmaids, Death at a funeral, Love Actually, Snow Cake, Harry Potter 1-7
  • Books: She's Come Undone, Harry Potter, Let the Great World Spin, or anything by Margaret Atwood or Wally Lamb
Add me :) 

(no subject)

Oi.

I've LJed on and off since I was in high school, which was about seven years ago...which is just crazy. I move around and travel a lot, so many of my friends, save, of course, the nearest and dearest, are people I only talk to regularly when we're in the same geographic vicinity. I seriously enjoy reading and learning about others' daily lives; it's enriching and thought-provoking. Or, maybe I should say, it has the potential to be, depending on whose life you're reading. In any case, I need some fresh blood on my flist, since I'm about to start a master's program and reading about other people's crap on the internet while I procrastinate on dealing with my own is pretty much essential to the whole process.

So, who am I? In answer to that question...

If I were in position to allocate money to different programs, I'd...fund serious research into progressive, thorough education methods that would completely restructure the way we think of school; tackle pharmaceutical companies with avaricious motivations; and give all the money in the world to people studying the brain.

The one thing I hope for more than anything else is amnesty from student loans.

I graduated from college in December 2007, and I'm starting a speech pathology masters program this fall. When I grow up, I want to treat disadvantaged members of the community who normally wouldn't have access to good health services and write about their cases.

As regards the essentials, I'm 25, from Kentucky, but I live in Pennsylvania now. In the past, I lived in Nashville, Aix-en-Provence (France), DC, and Vernon (also France). I'm married to a wonderful curly-haired physicist who makes computational models of bird neurons, and I'm trying to adjust to this idea of "settling down".

I have two journals---one I update, and one I use for my flist. So to get both my entries and my comments, you'd need to add both erinfondue and recalcitrancies. I know, two clicks there...major pain in the ass.

(no subject)

my name is katie, 30, california. i have been on lj for awhile. i'm going through changes in life at the moment that i do talk about since i was in a huge rut awhile back. anyway, i usually post on movies, tv, books, or other random things like photographs, about school since i am going back and work.

movies: harry potter series, mystic river, good will hunting, the departed

tv shows: misfits, coronation street, lost, svu, dexter, dawson's creek, community, treme, and into british tv shows.

music: jamie cullum mostly, but i do have a wide range of music that i do like. it always changes.

sports: hockey (boston bruins)

i love traveling and would love to live in europe one day, so i'm trying to figure how to make that happen. i love reading about other people's lives and what's going on. i also love writing, and do occasionally post what i'm working on. i do sometime swear in my journal, but i try not to.

Hello.

I've used this community twice before and found some lovely people. However, people have a tendency to grow out of LJ (or go crazy), so I'm looking for new LJ friends. 

I'm pretty normal. I talk about everything on my journal, my life, my job, music, memes, sex, school, etc. I "graduated" in May, but I'll be completing my student teaching in English in the fall. I'm currently studying abroad in Argentina, but will be returning home to my normal life in the states in a week. 

Basics: 
music - country, indie, reggaeton, rap. I'm currently loving Mumford, Don Omar, and Calle 13
tv - House, CSI, Weeds, Bones, Teen Mom (I know, embarrassing)
work - assisted living/nursing home
age - 22
sign - leo

As far as LJ friends, feel free to add me and see if we click. If we don't, just delete me. 
Don't add me if you're homophobic or under 18. 
If you add me, please leave a comment, send me a message, or comment on my friends only entry. I don't add people who don't let me know who they are.