April 26th, 2013

Little Dorrit

Greetings!

Mina. 21 yrs old. University student. Vegetarian. Slovakia

I'm in my second year, trying to get a Bachelor's degree from Visual Arts and English Language and Literature (it's a teacher programme). I work part-time at a theatre in the foyer. My blog is mostly about my everyday life, sometimes adding photos and my art... I'm owned by my dog, Dasha - she's a yorkshire terrier. I live with my mum and younger sister, dad died when I was 12 years old and there was no male element in my life until two years ago. I don't feel comfortable around the opposite sex. I want to do so many things in my life I'm left having no idea what I want to be. So I'm studying, hoping to figure it out soon. I'm very creative - I draw, paint, sew, and write. But I don't share my writings on LJ, if I share it at all. I'm a bibliophile and a history geek. My favourite eras are Middle Ages, Victorian, and Edwardian. I love everything Victorian and Art Nouveau (mainly Gustav Klimt and Alphonse Mucha). Most people would probably consider me boring, but I just don't need people around me to enjoy life - an ideal Friday night consists of classical music playing in the background, lots of tea, a good book, and Dasha. And chocolate! I like to think I'm a polite person, but when I'm very angry I curse like no other (and I can curse in 6 languages, mind you). Also I suffer from cardiac arrhythmia - my heart likes to remind me every once in a while, but otherwise I don't talk about it. Oh, and I'm a Christian - not that it matters, just a fair warning for those who hate religion (not that you'd guess from my journal, but meh).

And here are some things I love:

Books: Harry Potter, The Phantom of the Opera, Dracula, Pride and Prejudice, E. A. Poe, Your Sugar Sits Untouched (poetry book by E. Autumn), Alice in Wonderland, Vlad: The Last Confession, The Secret Garden, Hobit, Phantom (by Kay), The Catcher in the Rye

TV: House M.D., Bones, The Simpsons, The Addams Family ('92, '64), Blackadder, Mr. Beans

Movies: Little Dorrit (BBC), The Phantom of the Opera ('25, 2004), Pride and Prejudice (BBC), Tess of the D'Urbervilles (BBC), Bram Stoker's Dracula ('92), Gone With the Wind ('39), The Age of Innocence ('93), P.S. - I Love You, Bridget Jone's Diary, Harry Potter, The Man Who Laughs

Music: Giovanni Allevi, Chopin, Beethoven, Bach, Mozart, Paganini, Emilie Autumn, Lindsey Stirling, Hugh Laurie, Leonard Cohen, Marilyn Manson, Evanescence

Burlesque: Dita von Teese, Dirty Martini, Jo Weldon, Veronica Varlow

Anime: Hellsing, Fullmetal Alchemist, Gankutsuou: The Count of Monte Cristo, Junjou Romantica, Vampire Knight, Nana

Manga: Vampire Kisses, Doors of Chaos, Hellsing, Junjou Romantica, Trigun, Heart no Kuni no Alice

Don't add me if: you have children, you are suicidal most of the time, all you talk about it sex and drugs


And here's a face to go with the name...


glittered Ramblings from an Irish girl!

Hi Everyone,

That's me in my profile picture. I'm Tracey, 23 years of age and I'm from Dublin, Ireland.

I mainly post about every day life - my relationship, family, work, my diet and food in general. I love cooking and going to restaurants! Other interests include Drama (I finished my masters in the subject in August '12), travelling (everywhere I can go, but adventures in Ireland too), cooking and general chit chat about whatever is on my mind.

I like to post photos! Currently working in a college but starting a 2 year part time course in October which will enable me to be a teacher in a Secondary School (Highschool) of English. I love English whether it's writing or reading.

At the moment I have a huge interest in healthy eating and wellness! I love trying new healthy recipes and being good to my body. That being said, I also plan to lose 70 pounds between now and the end of the year, so I post about that quite a bit too.

I'm the eldest of 5 children, all with my mother and father who are now divorced (since I was 13). In january me and my boyfriend of 3 and a half years moved in together so this is something I post about quite a bit too. Bills are not fun, but living with the person you love IS!

That's me, in a little Shamrock-shaped nutshell :)

i'm a scientist

(no subject)

I wasn't going to post here, but I just looked and the last two months have been the slowest months on my journal in the last year and a half, so apparently a lot of my friends have drifted off. I've met some people here that I get along with well, so...

I've had my journal since 2010 and I post frequently... perhaps excessively. Regarding age, I am not 30 anymore but I'm not 40 yet.I have a serious science obsession and when it's not freezing and miserable outside I like to go take pictures and talk about science-y things, and I occasionally post random science things (which I should do more of). I read a lot, but it's all science nonfiction, so if you want to talk about the latest novels, I'm probably the wrong person. I also very rarely go see movies, although I do have my favorites (the list would probably start with "Usual Suspects" and include "Fight Club", "The Breakfast Club", "Labyrinth", "Goonies", "Lord of the Rings"...). I don't watch much consistently on TV except UFC and other mixed martial arts, but no one I know is into that, so I don't really talk about it.

I post lots of pictures of my cats. I also collect pictures of particular men that I like to look at pictures of. My journal here started out as a "Lord of the Rings" slash fanfic journal, and that's how I met a lot of my best friends, and it's still something I write and enjoy writing for my friends that read it. I you like to read such things, that would be very awesome. If not, feel free to skip it. Not all of my friends are interested in such things.

I comment on posts if I can think of anything to say. If your posts mostly consist of: "J. said thisandthisandthis to S. and OH MY GOD and then K. went to the club and was dancing with R. and she was supposed to be with P." or things like that, there's an excellent chance I will not have much to say. I would prefer people who are interested in actually reading posts and commenting occasionally... I don't see much point in being a lurker. On the other hand, I post a wide variety of stuff and don't expect all friends to be interested in all of it.

I am an atheist and a scientist and I respect all religious beliefs as long as people don't try to force them on everybody else, but I do greatly enjoy making fun of hardcore religious nut jobs. If you think the world is 6000 years old, you won't like my journal because yes, I will be posting things making fun of people like you. Sorry. Just sayin'.

I did the drinking thing and the other substances thing when I was younger and it's all out of my system now, pretty much. I'm married and raising my stepdaughter. There really isn't any drama about my husband and I because... well, there isn't.

I like makeup and nail polish and bath stuff. I have Tourette's, but that does not mean I shout obscenities or anything like that... I just have tics. You wouldn't stare if you saw me in the street or anything like that. It didn't keep me from working with kids and families doing behavioral health work for seven years. I have wasted a lot of time in higher education in various subjects.

I would really like people to talk to.

I swear. I seem to lack a concept of TOO MUCH INFORMATION, at least in my journal.

The fact that I write slash fiction does NOT need to deter guys from coming on over... I have several male friends who just ignore that stuff and read the other things, which is most of my posts.

I think that's more than enough, don't you?

Thanks,
Ruby