May 30th, 2013

tree swallow

Seeking new friends

Hello, all!

I've been on LJ for over ten years, and over those years I've seen plenty of fluctuations in my friends list as people come and go. So here I am, looking for some new friends!

About me: My name is Katie and I'm 34 years old. I'm a professional writer as well as an on-again, off-again teacher of writing (currently off: I just finished teaching a five-week mini-course in fiction writing, and I won't be teaching again until the fall). I live in Philadelphia, but I grew up in upstate New York. My girlfriend and I have been together for fourteen years--we have two cats and live together in a 200-year-old house. I read a lot and write a lot; my other interests include cooking, baking, gardening, hiking, photography, bird watching and otherwise being an amateur naturalist, and baseball. I am a tea-drinker, an art-lover, a feminist, a literature snob, an environmentalist, an introvert. This is me:

Yours truly


About my journal: I started my LJ as a reading journal back in 2001, and to this day I still often post about books I'm reading. Sometimes these book posts are closer to being formal reviews; other times they're just short updates on what I'm thinking or feeling about a book at that particular moment. But it's not just about books--I also post about food, my garden, writing, teaching, and little day-to-day details. There are often photographs. I tend to post once or twice a week. I love to use my LJ as a place to record small pleasures and little everyday beauties, and the tone of my posts is usually fairly positive. I don't have a ton of drama or excitement in my life, so if you're looking for that you should probably look elsewhere.

I'd like to meet some thoughtful, interesting people, and I care more about whether or not we can connect with each other than I do about your age, sex, gender, profession, location, etc, etc. Bonus points to anyone who is willing to get nerdy about books with me. I don't expect friends to comment on every single post I make, but I like to have at least a little bit of interaction. I'm not a world champion commenter myself, but I do make an effort.

My journal is mostly friends-only at the moment, but I will be happy to add anyone who's interested in checking it out. I tend to remove people from my friends list if I feel like no personal connection has developed between us, and I will not be bothered if you do the same!
Clock

lost inside my sick head

Hello.

I dug up my old lj account and I'm going to attempt to write again. Please give me some encouragement :)

Here are some things I like and probably will post about:
1. Video games (these days Guild Wars 2 has captured my attention)
2. Researching my family tree
3. Watching tv/movies (I <3 Walking Dead & Game of Thrones)
4. Animals (My furbaby is a pug, but I'm constantly surrounded by animals- 2 pugs, 1 bullmastiff, 1 shiba inu, 1 Bengal kitty, and 7 chickens)
5. Music (all kinds, but I'd say right now I'm loving Deftones the most. If you're an Alice in Chains fan, you might recognize my username & the subject title)
6. Books, books, books. She is too fond of books and it has turned her brain.
7. Photos. I take a lot of them, so I'll probably post a ton of them, too.

I often fantasize about moving to the country and homesteading.

I don't really care how old you are or what you look like. If it matters to you, I am a 27-year-old redhead with lots of freckles, sort of like this:



Or exactly like that... You know.

If you think we would be good friends, please add me :) And then let me know, so I can add you back!