June 20th, 2013

red haired vixen

MEOW.

ME
→ the name is kelly. i am 26 years old. born on november 27, 1986.
→ i live in saint peters, missouri. it's about 30 minutes west of saint louis. and yes i am a diehard stl blues/cardinals fan!
→ brown hair, green eyes, glasses/contacts. overnight supervisor at cvs pharmacy.
→ recently single.
→ i live with my mom and my 22 year old sister as well as our 5 cats and 3 dogs. yeah, it's pretty much a chaotic zoo in this house every day.
→ 14 tattoos and 13 piercings - i used to have a LOT more piercings but took most out.
→ i am a walking medical disaster - severe asthma, fibromyalgia, anxiety/bipolar/adhd, immune system problems.
→ i'm crazy, spontaneous, loud, impulsive, and normally always smiling and laughing but i also have a quiet, withdrawn, loner side to me as well. i can only handle being around the general public for so long, lol. i enjoy and cherish my "me" time!

LIKES
→ tv: the walking dead, wilfred, dexter, grimm, elementary, sherlock, the big bang theory, alphas, face off, hell's kitchen, america's got talent, the voice, teen mom, chopped, master chef, breaking bad, grey's anatomy.
→ movies: mainly comedy, thriller, or horror films. favorites include (but aren't limited to) source code, fight club, inception, ferris bueller's day off, batman (all of them), the avengers, iron man, harry potter, lord of the rings, donnie darko, fear and loathing in las vegas, any disney/pixar film, and the occasional rom-com.
→ music: pop, indie, top 40, rap, trance, dubstep, and techno are my main genres but i'm honestly not that picky. i adore music in all of it's forms.
→ books: harry potter, lord of the rings, the great gatsby, the complete works of shakespeare, sherlock holmes, lord of the flies, the perks of being a wallflower, anything by chuck palahniuk.
→ addicted to: soda, music, facebook/instagram/twitter, texting, kitties, makeup, anything pink, anything zebra striped, socks, lip gloss.
→ smoker of cigarettes (trying to quit or at least cut back). former stoner. i like alcohol.
→ other interests: superheroes, video games (mainly league of legends), cars, motorcycles, making out, dancing, karaoke, cutting/dying my hair, thunderstorms, rain, traveling/flying, driving with the windows down and music blaring, coloring, beer, candy.

DISLIKES
→ butterflies. yes i am serious.
→ bare feet. i ALWAYS wear socks.
→ june bugs - actually any bug in general.
→ slow drivers.
→ racists, homophobes, hypocrites, arrogant behavior, cheaters.

OTHER
→ i cuss. like, a lot. "fuck" is my favorite word.
→ i sing in the car. loudly.
→ i am a free spirit.
→ i talk about a lot of adult content in my journal so please be 18+.
→ i am not easily offended and i have a very open mind. i have and enjoy having friends with unique backgrounds and ideas. i would also like friends that i can connect with outside of lj as well!
→ i like to talk even though i am socially awkward and i update my journal regularly.
→ i consider myself a liberal democrat, but i HATE discussing politics and normally do not partake in political discussions. i also do not have a religious affiliation and consider myself agnostic.
→ was previously dodge but moved here.

Collapse )

Hey!

Hey there!
I am new to this live journal situation. Here's a quick introduction!

My name is Lori
I'm 24 years old and currently living in RI.
Here I am!
IMG_0630

I work at the largest Hospice in RI. I work more in the administrative/billing aspect of the company.
I have my degree in psych and am currently enrolled in a M.Ed program in School Counseling. My biggest goal is to obtain my Masters and help people in the best way I know how - thoughtful communication, compassionate and empathetic listening and love.

Here is a picture of my baby girl Piper:
IMG_0738
I rescued her 2 months ago from a very abusive owner. She came to us starved, almost hairless, and very ill. We have nursed her back to health and she CONTINUES to be the sweetest thing that has ever stepped foot into my life.
I am going through the toughest year of my life and she has made me feel like I have finally done SOMETHING right.

I also have 2 guinea pigs [Don't laugh, I never got to have these furry friends as a child!]
Their names are Sheldon and Leonard [And for those of you who don't know why I kindly ask you to reconsider our potential friendship status]

I love writing and expressing my thoughts, opinions and struggles. If I had the time and dedication I'd probably seriously consider writing a book...I also seek perspective and opinions from those who may not know me personally. Like I have said, I am struggling through some very real relationship issues, still adjusting to life without my overbearing parents, and establishing my self-identity while simultaneously being what everyone expects me to be. I have hopes, desires that I'm not sure can be obtained because of my innate fear of failure and disappointing those around me...But overcoming said fear could be the key to my true fulfillment.

With that being said, I am my own worst enemy. I can give sound advice (Or so I am told!) but refuse to take my own. I am very down to earth and I love making people laugh. My personality is dripping with sarcasm. As female as I appear, I am of a very different mindset. I appreciate inappropriate humor, and a rousing "that's what she said" comment here and there.

In my spare time [HA, what is that?] I dabble in the occasional weekend karaoke with friends [Though, it is never a fully sober experience]. I enjoy having a good time, cracking jokes at any possible opportunity, and having great conversation with great people.

Essentially, I am looking not for those like-minded, but those who can offer a fresh perspective and perhaps I can return the favor wholeheartedly!

If interested, friend me and I will gladly return the gesture!
  • Current Mood
    thoughtful thoughtful