November 5th, 2014

  • alicroc

Looking for Friends

Name: Aliya
Age: 36
Hometown: Indianapolis
Relationship status: Married with 3 lovely kids
Hobbies: Camping, Reading, Cooking, Travelling
Zodiac sign: Scorpio

.
What my journal is for: I started journaling 9 years ago this month during my first pregnancy.  It was mostly to blog about what I was going through then, it has since evolved into my life in general.  I sometimes post a lot, sometimes I go a month or two with radio silence but I always post.   You'll get funny stories, trials and tribulations of life, and the random poem.

Summing me up: I'm a work from home enrollment counselor for an online university.  I love my family, friends and I enjoy exploring and learning about Native American culture even though I myself am not Native American.   I love travelling and will do so till the day I die.  I've lived in several states: Illinois, Iowa, Indiana, Wisconsin, Virigina, Maine, Colorado and Wyoming.  I've also lived in Pakistan where my father is from, my mom is British so I'm heavily into British comedy :D  I love camping, and my family camps as much as we can.   I wear my heart on my sleeve.  I'm nice, I'm funny and I think that counts for a lot.

I love watching movies with my kids, so I've likely seen every Pixar film 10,000 times, I also like comedy, not into scary movies much to my husbands chagrin, although we are huge Walking Dead fans.  I like to read a lot and I've been a member of the site paperbackswap.com for several years.  I like singing and I'm fairly decent at it.

I have 3 college degrees so I ain't too dumb neither ;)  
winbutlerasthepope

Ciao!

Hey there! I am Mary, a 25 years old student from Milan, Italy.
I'm starting a new LJ after a brief hiatus...so I'm looking for new friends.
Collapse )
Ok, after having given you the wrong impression..(well, in my defence , rain makes me really nervous and it's been raining cats and dogs for days) I'll introduce myself: college student, in her mid-twenties. I have a lot of interests like
music , I'm kinda ashamed of saying this but I love music more than what I'm studying at school, I'm a huuuuuuuuuge music geek, like I could talk about music for hours, I spend all my money for concerts. Tastes? I'll tell you just a few of my fav. artists because the list is too lon:
Arcade Fire (I'm obsessed by them, I must confess... but obsessed in a healthy way, it's not like I'm gonna stalk the singer or anything, I really just love this band a lot and their songs really speak to me), the National, Future Islands, blur, Talking Heads... I don't like to define the genres I like most, if I had to choose one, I'd say indie - rock , but there's a lot more to discover... recently I've re-discovered Eminem (I love his early stuff, I was crazy for him as a kid). And I have a history of a jazz huge lover... let's say indie rock is what made me find my musical dimension
Ok , after having rambled about music for an hour let's change topic: I love traveling (I visited huge parts of Europe and visited NY,Washington and Philadelphia and I'm desperately wanting to visit Canada) and photography (and I post a lot of pictures too), I love reading, I love science. I like people with a good sense of humor, who are capable to make fun of theirselves (auto-ironic), I like people who are reliable, who always tell you the truth no matter how much it could hurt you. I'm so tired of false friends. I don't like people who want to oppress other people, who want to impose their will, their beliefs and etc on others. I like freedom. Sometimes I swear,but I don't want to beg anyone's pardon ... I'm not sorry for who I am and I want to be accepted the way I am. And I accept anyone the way they are if they know the limits.What else? I'm agnostic, but I'm very tolerant if you're tolerant... I don't like fanatics... this includes religion or any other topic.I also want to say I'm straight but that doesn't mean I will tolerate any homophobia in my friends feed ... or racism. It's 2014 people, it is embarassing. I can talk about politics, I'm a leftist .What else? I'm pathologically clumsy, I'm a straight - forward person , I think, and I'm a good person... maybe too good because people always want to take advantage of me. I read a lot, mainly classics , I ramble a lot and love learning foreign languages (I just started a German course and I already love it even if , maaan , that's though!:D), so, given that English is not my first language you're free to correct me and teach me (for example I think this post's filled with errors, but I'm too tired to spot them right now) and ... what else? I'm a shy person , but very resolute and passionate. I have a very strong sense of "family" and the three people I live with (my mum , my dad and my lil sis) are the most important in my life. Yes I also have a boyfriend but things aren't pretty these days.
Ok, it's not really necessary to say everything, it spoils all the fun.

If I sound like someone you could like, you could want to get to know... you know what to do. :)
I hope it's clear I don't want to become best friends like in two days, but I hope to be more than a nick-name in a list and don't want you to be a nick-name on my list either.
The journal is new, ready to be filled with new adventures!